Hedland Red 2022 Nth West Winners

The 2022 North-West Touch Carnival was successfully held in Port Hedland across the first weekend of June with nine teams representing regional and remote affiliates participating.

Affiliates from Geraldton, Karratha, Hedland, Exmouth, Tom Price and Paraburdoo competed fiercely across the three-day carnival with the hosts and home town favourites Hedland Red running out eventual winners.

Thanks to Hedland Touch for hosting a great weekend and for all those who participated. See below for results and award winners.


Grand Final

Hedland Red 9 defeated Karratha Gold 3

MVP’s of Grand Final

Stacey Smith (Hedland Red)
Richard Wuruki (Hedland Red)

Referees for Grand Final

Rob McKay (Perth)
Justin Parsons (Perth)
Chris Channing (Broome)

Referee of the Carnival 

Chris Bell (Hedland)

Referee Upgrades

Level 1 to 2
Luke Fittock (Port Hedland), Chris Bell (Port Hedland), Voda VanDemerwe (Port Hedland), Tonya Hollis (Exmouth), Michael Brooks (Exmouth), Noah McCallum (Exmouth)

Level 2 to 3
Bryan Thomas (Perth), Marama Rawiri (Tom Price), Mason Watts (Exmouth)


Semi-Final #1
Hedland Red 6 defeated Hedland White 2

Semi-Final #2
Karratha Gold 8 defeated Karratha Blue 5


Top Try Scorers

Damon Enosa (Tom Price) & Ben Newie-Mene (Hedland White) 

Lauren Norris (Geraldton)

All Stars Team (voted by players each game)

Lauren Norris (Geraldton)
John Chambers (Karratha Blue)
Jasmine Kilmartin (Hedland Black)
Kai Kirkwood (Karratha)
Chynna Cahill (Exmouth)
Cam Barton (Exmouth)

'SPIRIT OF NORTH-WEST’ Award (Donated by Exmouth Touch Football)

Michael Brooks

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Government Partners