SL GF Web Article Photos (1)

The Tuggeranong Vikings defeated the Northern Phoenix 10-3 to win the Women’s Super League grand final at Gungahlin Enclosed Oval on Saturday.

It is the Vikings eighth title in nine years, and their fourth in a row.

In very hot and windy conditions, Tuggeranong jumped to an early 2-0 lead. Phoenix hit back to close the gap to 2-1, but the Vikings scored again to extend their lead to 3-1.

Northern Phoenix scored right on half-time, with the score a close 3-2 heading into the break.

The Vikings came out firing after half-time, scoring seven points to claim a 10-3 victory.

Northern Phoenix defeated Tuggeranong Vikings 6-4 to cap off a historic season in the Men’s Super League grand final.

It is Phoenix’s first three-peat in the clubs history and their nineth grand final in ten years with multiple grand final wins and runners up.

Phoenix jumped out to a 3-1 lead at half time and Vikings were able to match it with them in the second half scoring three tries each but the lead in the first half proved to be the difference in the end.

Kasey Dragisic from Vikings was awarded the Player of the final award for the women’s and Sam Hyland for Phoenix.

To top off a great season for all Vikings teams in Super League and Premier League, Vikings were awarded the ACT Club Championship.

Premier League Results and notable awards

Women’s Premier League

Tuggeranong Vikings 7 def Goulburn Merinos 6

Champions – Tuggeranong Vikings


Men’s Premier League

Goulburn Merinos 10 def Northern Phoenix Black 6

Champions – Goulburn Merinos


Men’s Super League MVP – Jamie Hawke (Northern Phoenix)

Women’s Super League MVP – Rachel McVicar (Gungahlin Cats)

Trevor Richards Award Winner – Adam Leeson (North Canberra Bears)

Paul Baker Medal Recipient – Abi Muller

Best Performed Referee – James Steinberg

Super League Men’s Top Try Scorer – Liam Elliot (Northern Phoenix)

Super League Women’s Top Try Scorer – Angie Blackburn (Tuggeranong Vikings)

Men’s Super League GF Referees – James Steinberg, Josh Schumacher, Simon Croft

Women’s Super League GF Referees – Sebastian Tanner, Michael Halling, Hayden Wearne

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Government Partners