The men’s and women’s Grand Finals of the 2019 NRL Touch Premiership are on this Sunday, 18th August, at the SCG.

The 2019 NRL Touch Premiership Grand Finals will tap off at 12pm ahead of the 2pm Roosters vs Warriors NRL fixture.

This year has seen the first full season of the NRL Touch Premiership play out. The NRL Touch Premiership is an elite Touch Football tournament with men’s and women’s tournaments played simultaneously. Teams represent eight NRL clubs.

Games are played at major stadiums across Australia and New Zealand and are broadcast on Fox League, NRL.com and Kayo, as well as Sky Sport in New Zealand.

In the women’s Grand Final, the Parramatta Eels (top of the ladder) will take on the Brisbane Broncos after the Broncos won the Semi-Final against the Gold Coast Titans on Sunday 11th August at GIO Stadium.

In the men’s, the first-spot North Queensland Cowboys will take on the Newcastle Knights, who beat the Wests Tigers in the Semis.

Touch Football Australia (TFA) CEO Jamie O’Connor said these four teams will put on a phenomenal show for spectators at the Sydney Cricket Ground this Sunday.

“The four teams in the Grand Final on Sunday feature some of the best touch footballers in the world.” he said. “There isn’t too much between the teams in either the men’s or women’s; all are star-studded with Australian and State of Origin representatives.

“In the Women’s, the Parramatta Eels and the Brisbane Broncos have a long-standing rivalry from years of doing battle in past finals of the Elite 8, the tournament that the NRL Touch Premiership replaced. They’ve made their way through to the decider in a contrasting fashion – the Eels cruised through as Minor Premiers with a sole loss in their last round match against the Titans. On the other hand, the Broncos have been a little slow to the party but showed their class at the back end of the season, and a strong win in their Semi-Final against the Titans will serve them well this week.

“In the Men’s, the North Queensland Cowboys are probably considered the benchmark of the NRL Touch Premiership. They’ve been the strongest domestic team for several years, having taken out the last three Elite 8 tournaments. They have talent across the park and are led by Phil Gyemore, who has recently been appointed Australia’s Men’s Open Coach.

“But the Newcastle Knights are a young and talented squad and if there is one team that can knock the Cowboys off their mantle, it’s the Knights – the men that make up a large proportion of the team have won pretty much every major New South Wales tournament in the last 12 months, as well as a national title earlier this year.

“Both Grand Final games will be entertaining spectacles from world-class athletes who are extremely fast, with phenomenal footwork and ball skills.”

Last year, 2018, saw the NRL Touch Premiership launch, though that was a pilot tournament with just seven gamedays. This year the tournament has seen a full season played over five months.

O’Connor is thrilled that the NRL Premiers, the Sydney Roosters, are keen to host this history-making event – the Grand Final for the first full season of this elite touch tournament – at a venue with such a rich sporting history.

“This is a momentous occasion for our sport. The new NRL Touch Premiership is now the world’s premier domestic touch competition so to be able to play the Grand Final on one of the world’s most iconic stadiums is very special,” he said.

“The NRL Touch Premiership is the first time the public has been able to witness these athletes in action at major stadiums and on TV and I’m looking forward to the show they’ll put on.”

Sydney Roosters CEO Joe Kelly urged Roosters Members and fans to show their support. “We’re calling on our Roosters Members and supporters to arrive early and show your support for the players that have qualified for the Grand Finals.”

Key facts about the 2019 NRL Touch Premiership

8 NRL clubs: The tournament has expanded from six NRL clubs in 2018 to eight in 2019, with the Sydney Roosters and the New Zealand Warriors joining the Wests Tigers, Parramatta Eels, Newcastle Knights, Gold Coast Titans, Brisbane Broncos and North Queensland Cowboys in this elite Touch Football tournament.

240 elite athletes: Each of the eight NRL clubs have fielded both an elite women’s and elite men’s touch team, meaning that more than 120 female and 120 male athletes have been competing to win their club a Premiership.

26 gamedays: The tournament has also significantly extended in gamedays since 2018 – from just seven in 2018 to 26 in 2019. The tournament runs over a period of five months, from 6th April to 18th August 2019. 

More than 10 stadiums: Matches have been played at all major stadiums throughout Australia (including ANZ, Suncorp and CBUS Stadiums), as well as the brand new Western Sydney Stadium, Adelaide Oval, Glen Willow Stadium in Mudgee, GIO Stadium in Canberra and Mt Smart Stadium in New Zealand.


Grand Finals

12pm, Sunday 18th August, SCG

Get 2-for-1 GA tickets by using the code TOUCHGF at bit.ly/nrltpgftix

Or watch on Fox League or Kayo

Get a free 14-day Kayo trial by signing up via bit.ly/kayonrltp


For more information, high-res imagery or to arrange an interview, contact:

NRL Touch Football GM – Marketing and Communications, Alice Ellis

Ph: 0436 668 327  //  Email: alice.ellis@touchfootball.com.au">alice.ellis@touchfootball.com.au

Principal Partner

Major Partners

Official Partners

Government Partners