Postcode/Suburb Club name
National 18's Award Presentations

National 18's

National 18's Award Presentations


The Australian Under 18 Touch Football Championships finished this afternoon with the presentation of team and individual awards.

The Championships, being held in Coffs Harbour, finished with NSW Combined High Schools facing Queensland Secondary Schools Touch for the Championship title and gold medal in both the men's and women's divisions.

In the women's NSWCHS scored a surprisingly easy victory over QSST 7-2 with Jessica Howe from NSWCHS named as player of the match and Roxanne Winder from SQBD named as player of the series.

South Queensland Border Districts held out the local Northern Eagles in a tense 4-3 victory to take the bronze medal.

For the lower placed teams South West Queensland won the Shield title and the Hunter Valley Hornets took the Plate title.

In the men's competition QSST held out NSWCHS 8-5 to take the Championship title and gold medal while the Sydney Mets beat the Brisbane City Cobras for the bronze medal.

The Southern Suns easily accounted for North Queensland 9-2 to win the Shield Title while the Hornets took the Plate title with a close 5-3 victory over the Northern Eagles.

Dylan Hennessey from NSWCHS was chosen as player of the match in the men's Championship final and Shannon Sankey from QSST was selected as the player of the series.

Ashleigh Dobbins from the Southern Suns women's side, finished the Championships as the leading touchdown scorer with 20 including seven in one game alone.

The MVP awards for each team were also announced during the presentation ceremony.

media contact: Rachel Moyle, 0422233165
ACT: Brett Davis
Brisbane Cobras: David Denning
Central Queensland: Tallis Ashley
Eagles: Tom Crossingham
Hunter Western Hornets: Shannon Miller
North Queensland: Aidan Guerra
Northern Territory: Aaron Motlop
NSWCCC: Scott Dureau
NSWCHS: Aaron Tandek
NSWCIS: Steve Bristow
QSST: Sebe Rey
South Australia: Ben Gostlow
South West Queensland: Sean Albion
SQBD: Christopher Small
Suns: Trent Fynn
Sydney Mets: Marc Kovacic
Sydney Scorpions: Ricky Guilbert
TouchWest: Stuart Brierty

ACT: Kelly Goodwin
Brisbane Cobras: Cassie Matheson
Central Queensland: Emily Powell
Eagles: Tara Prowse
Hunter Western Hornets: Ashley Shaw
North Queensland: Kirsti Le Gay Brereton
Northern Territory: Sarah Ruane
NSWCCC: Claire Winchester
NSWCHS: Laura James
NSWCIS: Taya Wedesweiler
QSST: Courtney Hipperson
South Australia: Amy Riedell
South West Queensland: Gemma Etheridge
SQBD: Lauren McDonald
Suns: Ashley Bates
Sunshine Coast: Chelsea Pratten
Sydney Mets: Kasey Garner
Sydney Rebels: Kara Pope
Sydney Scorpions: Kristen Plummer
TouchWest: Tracey Lyster
Last Modified on 20/09/2003 16:16